Care Quality Commission

Care Quality Commission: Essential Standards of Quality and Safety

In April 2010, the regulation of health and adult social care changed. Legislation brought in a new registration system that applies to all regulated health and adult social care services. From April 2010, all health and adult social care providers who provide regulated activities are required by law to be registered with the Care Quality Commission.

Livewell Southwest has registered the following regulated activities*:

  • Assessment or medical treatment for persons detained under the Mental Health Act 1983
  • Family planning
  • Nursing care
  • Surgical procedures
  • Treatment of disease, disorder or injury
  • Diagnostic and screening procedures

*categories determined by CQC

What does registration involve?

To continue to be registered with the Care Quality Commission, Livewell Southwest must show that it is meeting new essential standards of quality and safety across all of the regulated activities we provide. There are 28 standards and 16 of these are used by the Care Quality Commission to form a judgement about our compliance. These are the standards that relate most directly to the quality and safety of care.

Everyone working in Livewell Southwest has a responsibility to contribute to the achievement of the essential standards of quality and safety that respect the dignity of people who use our services and protect their rights.

CQC Report 2016

In 2016 the CQC published their report following an inspection which took place in June 2016. Livewell Southwest achieved an overall rating of Good, with Glenbourne and our Learning Disability Service rated as Outstanding. You can view the full report of their findings here.