Select Page

by | Thursday, September 17th, 2020 | News

Livewell had lots to celebrate this week at the School of Psychiatry Awards, with multiple nominees across different categories culminating in award winners!

The School of Psychiatry awards are a fantastic event that celebrate the hard work and dedication of trainees, trainers, and other professionals involved in psychiatric training across the South West peninsula.

Livewell had a number of fantastic people up for awards – James George was nominated in the core trainee of the year category, while Karen Cocksedge and Fernanda Garcia Costas were nominated in the trainer of the year category with Fernanda picking up the award!

Leanne Tozer was also awarded the ‘Head of School’ by honour for her work in service development, teaching and training, particularly during the pandemic.

Dr Simon Bonell, Head of School for Psychiatry for Peninsula Postgraduate Medication Education, said: “What was particularly striking throughout the awards was the fantastic quality on display across the peninsula and it was great to celebrate this, albeit in a small way.”

Dr Maung Oakarr, Interim Medical Director, said: “This is excellent news, and I feel very proud of you all.

“I’d like to extend big congratulations to Leanne on her Head of School award and to Fernanda as Trainer of the Year for their excellent work and support for medical education and service development.

Award-winning Dr Fernanda Garcia Costas


en English